Preping for “the Perfect Shot”

Image

I am relatively new to the business side of photography – yes, I have been taking photos and editing them for as long as I can remember, but it was all for fun, just a hobby. It wasn’t until the summer of 2011 that it really clicked in my head that I just might be able to make a living at this some day… sure, it had always been a dream of mine, but I never thought I’d have the time or opportunity to make it a reality.

I often find myself obsessing over “the perfect shot”; browsing pinterest, other photographers’ websites, message boards, youtube videos about lighting, etc.; getting inspiration and learning all I can from other photographers who have been in the business longer than I have. I am a planner. I love planning and envisioning what will be; but, sometimes, no matter how much planning you do, situations just don’t present themselves in the way you think they should. Sometimes weather doesn’t cooperate> Sometimes children are just having a bad day and don’t want to be in front of a camera. Sometimes things just happen. You can’t let it get you frustrated, you can’t let it get you down, because sometimes the perfect photo just happens to present itself to you. In the instance of cranky children, work with them, learn their personality and just shoot through it all, you might just catch a smile in between the fits.

ImageImage

The above photos are perfect examples of what I am talking about. Now, I am in no way saying that I think I am the best photographer out there, that is the very opposite of what I am trying to say. Instead, what I am trying to say, is that sometimes things just happen. I didn’t have to pose anyone in these pictures. I had tried in some other ones, but the kids just wouldn’t focus or stay still long enough to get a good shot. So, by this time, I realized why fight it – just go with the flow. Let their personalities show through naturally instead of trying to force them out. The only direction I gave them was the general area in which I wanted them to stand. Everything else just happened naturally, and that, in my opinion is what makes photos real. Personalities don’t really show through when people are posed how you want them… the only personality that shows through that way, is the one behind the camera, sometimes.

Ultimately, the images came out crazy well balanced and it was all in how each of them had chosen to stand. The spacing was all them, the height of the balloons was purely incidental, yet it all worked together so wonderfully and their facial expressions were so true to their individualism.

In short, what I guess I am trying to say is that sometimes, just sometimes, you gotta let go and see what happens, you might just be surprised by the result.

Leave a Reply

